Rule 20:38:32:04 Land surveying.
20:38:32:04. Land surveying. An
applicant for licensure as a land surveyor shall pass the Fundamentals of Land
Surveying (FS) examination, the Principles and Practice of Land Surveying (PS)
examination and an open book, take-home examination of South Dakota land
surveying practice and laws.
Current students and graduates of the educational
programs described in § 20:38:30:03 that have either successfully
completed, or are currently enrolled in, a minimum total of 18 semester credit
hours of surveying courses within, or in addition to, their program of study
may apply for the FS examination. An applicant who passes the examination shall
be enrolled as a land surveyor-in-training (LSIT) or land surveying intern
(LSI). Passage of the examination does not authorize any person to practice as
a land surveyor or to imply that such a professional title is held.
Applicants who have completed all of the
requirements and who apply for the FS examination prior to December 31, 2015,
may request that their application be reviewed on the basis of the education
and experience requirements which existed on January 1, 2011.
An applicant who has passed the FS examination and
has satisfied the land surveying education and experience requirements may
apply for admission to the PS examination.
The South Dakota portion of the examination is an
open book, take-home examination. There is a four-hour version for applicants
who have passed 12 hours of the NCEES examinations; a two-hour version for
applicants who have passed 14 hours of the NCEES examinations; and a one-hour
version for applicants who have passed 15 hours of the NCEES examinations. Each
applicant shall complete and return the applicable version of the take-home
examination to the board's office within 30 calendar days after the date of
mailing of the examination to the applicant.
An applicant who fails the FS or PS examination
may retake the examination two times. If the applicant fails the examination
three times, the applicant may submit only one new application for admission to
the examination per calendar year thereafter. The board may review an applicant
who has failed the examination three times and may require additional
qualifying education or experience.
Source: 26 SDR 9, effective July 29, 1999;
34 SDR 107, effective October 31, 2007; transferred from § 20:38:17:08, 38
SDR 121, effective January 16, 2012; 40 SDR 121, effective January 7, 2014.
General Authority: SDCL 36-18A-22(3), 36-18A-28.
Law Implemented: SDCL 36-18A-1(16), 36-18A-28.
Back to 20:38:32