South Dakota Seal
Site Search:
Bill Quickfind:  

Download Section in Microsoft Word FormatPrinter Friendly
Rule 20:06:22:29 Rating area.

          20:06:22:29.  Rating area. No health insurance issuer may vary rates based on geographical location in this state except as permitted by this section. The rating areas are on a county basis and are as follows:


          (1)  Harding, Butte, Perkins, Corson, Dewey, Ziebach, Haakon, Jackson, Bennett, Shannon, Fall River, Custer, Pennington, Lawrence, Meade, Stanley, Jones, Lyman, Mellette, Todd, Tripp, and Gregory;


          (2)  Lake, Moody, McCook, Minnehaha, Turner, Lincoln, Clay, and Union;


          (3)  Campbell, Walworth, Potter, McPherson, Edmunds, Faulk, Brown, Spink, Marshall, Roberts, Day, Grant, Codington, Clark, Hamlin, Deuel, Brookings, Kingsbury, and Beadle; and


          (4)  Sully, Hughes, Hyde, Hand, Buffalo, Jerauld, Sanborn, Miner, Brule, Aurora, Davison, Hanson, Douglas, Charles Mix, Hutchinson, Bon Homme, and Yankton.


          Nothing in this section requires a health insurance issuer to use a different geographic rating factor for each rating area. A health insurance issuer may assign the same rating band for any or all of the rating areas specified in this section.


          Source: 39 SDR 203, effective June 10, 2013.

          General Authority: SDCL 58-17-4.2, 58-17-87, 58-18B-18, 58-18B-36.

          Law Implemented: SDCL 58-17-4.3, 58-17-87, 58-18B-18, 58-18B-36.


Back to 20:06:22 | 20:06:22:29 RSS
^ Back to Top